International Cooperative Alliance launches 2019 Rochdale Pioneers Award


Dame Pauline Green, a previous winner, with her award outside the Rochdale Pioneers Museum. [photo: Cooperative News]
Nominations are open for the International Cooperative Alliance’s (ICA) Rochdale Pioneers Award, the highest honor the ICA bestows.

Its purpose is to recognize—in the spirit of the Rochdale Pioneers—an individual who has contributed to innovative and financially sustainable cooperative activities that have significantly benefited cooperative members. Under special circumstances, a cooperative organization can be recognized.

Previous winners include former Co-operative Union Chief Executive Lloyd Wilkinson; former Co-operatives UK Chief Executive and ICA President Dame Pauline Green; and the Plunkett Foundation.

The award will be presented in Kigali, Rwanda, during the biennial ICA Conference on Development and General Assembly, which takes place October 14-17, 2019.

Nominations are invited from member organizations of the ICA and from organizations in solidarity with the cooperative movement. Nominees must be current or former members or employees of an ICA member organization or in one of that organization’s members or affiliates.

If an organization is nominated, rather than an individual, it must be an ICA member organization or one of that organization’s members or affiliates.

A nominee’s achievements must:

  •    Visibly demonstrate benefit to the global cooperative movement
  •    Be innovative
  •    Be financially sustainable and of a permanent nature
  •    Be a leader in the cooperative movement
  •    Demonstrate commitment to the cooperative principles

The winner will be selected by an ICA board-appointed committee.

Click here to find out more and download nomination forms. Fully completed forms and required documents should be sent to The deadline for nominations is July 1.

Share This Post

We hope you enjoyed this article. If you did, we would love it if you would share it to your social networks!