America’s Electric Co-ops recognize Martin Lowery with Clyde T. Ellis Award

Current CEO Jim Matheson, left, and former President Phil Carson, right, present the Clyde T. Ellis Award to Martin Lowery.

The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) honored co-op leaders with several prestigious awards at its annual meeting last month.

The highest honor, the Clyde T. Ellis Award, went to Martin Lowery, board chairman of the National Cooperative Bank and executive vice president emeritus of NRECA.

The award, named after NRECA’s first CEO, honors those who have made exemplary contributions that promote the principles and progress of rural electrification and the development and use of natural resources.

Lowery, who was inducted into the Cooperative Hall of Fame in 2014, is the elected U.S. representative to the board of the International Co-operative Alliance. He is chairman of the ICA’s Principles Committee and serves on the Membership Committee. Lowery is also a former chair and longtime board member of NCBA CLUSA.

Lowery is NRECA’s representative to the board of the U.S. Global Leadership Coalition, where he advocates for diplomacy and development as key to U.S. international affairs.

“Martin is extraordinarily dedicated to the cooperative purpose and stands out among the leaders within our industry,” said former NRECA President Phil Carson. “His contribution to the success of NRECA and its members is unparalleled.”

Lowery said it was “a great honor to receive this award and be recognized for contributing to a cause I care so deeply about.”

Share This Post

We hope you enjoyed this article. If you did, we would love it if you would share it to your social networks!